screen shot 2013-01-28 at 4.47.01 pm.png


At the intersection of legislation, philanthropy, and arts patronage in Texas stands the Texas Cultural Trust with a mission to promote and highlight the importance of the arts in educating our children and sustaining our vibrant Texas economy. We love that.

Arts patrons, supporters, and enthusiasts recently joined chairs Kelli Blanton, Marita Fairbanks, and honorary chair Patricia Dewhurst for the announcement of the 2013 Texas Medal of Arts Honorees at a swell luncheon. The announcement was at the gorgeous new Houston Ballet Center for Dance.

“The Texas Medal of Arts Awards recognizes those who have positively impacted the creative culture of the state,” said First Lady Anita Perry. “People from across the state and from all types of creative expression are honored and celebrated as we cultivate and raise awareness about the arts in our state with the hope of continuing and expanding it for future generations to appreciate, embrace and enjoy.”

screen shot 2013-01-28 at 4.46.17 pm.png

In the crowd were Jonathon Glus, Isabel David, Ernie Manouse, Minnette Boesel, Eddy Blanton, Dean Gladden, Larry Faulkner, Gregory Boyd, Don Geraci, C.C. Conner, Anthony Hall, Gene Jones, Grey’s Anatomy’s Debbie Allen, Shara Fryer and Shelby Hodge.

The biennial statewide award celebrates creative talent, arts education, and arts patronage in Texas, and will be celebrated at a two-day event in Austin in March 4 and 5. For tickets to the award show and after party, go to or call the Texas Cultural Trust at 512.478-5289. See you there.